My Adventures – Barbarian Back Story

dragonborn01

This was my very first back story. I hope you enjoy it.

Dragonborn barbarian – background

THE JOURNEY FOR STRENGTH

I am just a simple warrior but even a simple warrior has a story and my story started on that day. Before I continue I need to tell you about my clan. My tribe are full of powerful barbarians and my clan are of the great dragonborns. Even though our clan is mostly made up of dragonborns we still have other races coming in and out of our village for trade. My clutch is made up of 4 brothers and 5 sisters. We may not have the same parents as our elders have told us, but we were all raised and trained together. I have two very special friends and we may be of different race but I have a warrior’s trust in them. They are dwarves. I first met Gol and Pit during my early days as a hatching in-training. They were both wardens at the time. I did not even know what a warden was until I met those two. But that’s enough of my friends, but now I need to shed some light on the rest of my tribe. As I have already mentioned they are dragonborns and our village has what I would call our leaders. They are the elders of the tribe. All elders of the tribe were great warriors of their time but now they have became great spiritual guides. Our true leader is the warrior chief that can only be chosen through a special event. This event is the commemoration of our past where our other rival clans would battle each other for glory and honour.

Now then, this was not how we use to live. One of the elders has told us that close to 300 years ago the 3 tribes of barbarians were rivals in a never ending war. This war was called THE BATTLE OF SLAUGHTER. In this war the 3 tribes of goliaths, dwarves and dragonborn would battle each other to show their Strength and Power over who should rule the 3 tribes but rivalries never end until another unknown power overwhelmed them. This mysterious power now rules over all of us and has chosen to allow the 3 tribes to live among each other. The ruler of the 3 tribes has granted us an opportunity to rule our tribes’ through a special method of selection. It is a tournament that tests the participants’ strength and skill in various challenges. These challenges are meant to eliminate the weak and test if the chosen champions have what it takes to lead and overcome the trials.

Now back to my story, in my clan I was selected as one of the champions to compete in the tournament. I was always the superior warrior of my clutch so it was obvious that I would be chosen but during the time when we were being judged I was the only one that was harassed by the elders for indirectly forcing my clutch to stand down. They always would tell me that there was no rule for intimidating, but that I was overusing it to get my way. I would never harm them but if intimidating them would get me the position as champion then tough luck. When I was told that I would be the champion for my clan I roared full of triumph. I must show our ruler that my strength and my clans’ strength are superior to our rivals. I thought that the title of true strength was when you are called DRAGON and our rule has this title. I have heard rumours that she has some ancient power. Her personal messenger has always and only appeared to give our 3 tribes advice. Her orders have always been strange. I have always thought that she was wise, strong (because of her title), powerful (because of her deeds) and ultimately… CRAZY. She must be the last of the strange powers that unified our clans and tribes together. I have always wanted to show her my strength and my ways of strength. If I ever get the chance to reveal how powerful my clan is to the other tribes then this tournament is a good place to start (I thought). I have always dreamed of being the ruler of the tribes since I first heard tales of the ruler. If I got the chance to meet her I would challenge her for her title of DRAGON. BUT my brothers and sisters claim that they have her tales and ballads from their own travels that our ruler is in-fact a REAL DRAGON. A blue dragon.

Our esteem elders have told us tales of the terrible tyrant “ARYGOS” and of how this terrible beast would destroy the lesser races and use dragonborns as slaves to show the races their cruelty. But our tribes’ chief of a generation ago had spoken to our ruler many times. I have always wondered how but through the primal spirits I now understand the method. Balasari was this chief’s name. She told a story that the ruler of the 3 tribes titled DRAGON was not a tyrant and that she had a method of speaking to her through ancestral spirits. Her PRIMAL RAGE.

My clutch were all told this same tale as little hatchlings. I, once believed such tales from my elders but as I experienced more of the world, all of the old windbags tales are now a little too farfetched and crazy to have any merit to me. I now only believe in what my brothers and sisters and friends say, so long as they were sober when telling their tale. I can now mostly believe and trust in what I have experienced. That is why I do not believe all those rumours of the ruler of all the barbarians of this region, is a 400 year old blue dragon. I did not think that a powerful and mystical dragon would want to rule us. I have always thought that all dragons were just wizards in disguise. Since wizards are frail weak beings and their jealously towards our muscle. We are just mighty warriors after all. Simple warriors that seek the thrill of gaining honour, glory and to prove who among us is the strongest.

Since the time of being chosen, to be the competing champion, I was given the time when the competition would begin, so I had a few seasons to train myself. But I needed to provide an offering to powerful Kord. So that I may be granted his blessing in the upcoming tournament. Before I departed for my training my friends and family gave me precious momentos. Gol and Pit gave me a craghammer they had crafted. My sisters provided me with special clan tattoos and my brothers gave me symbols of our clan THE FIERCE TALON. Our tribe chief honoured me with two items one iron dagger with a carving of Kord and a wooden symbol of our tribe THE DRAGON TALON.

10 days into my training while I rested in nearby fields, I felt a strange sensation. It was not of the primal spirits or of the natural ones. I then found myself awoken and the scenery had changed from peaceful windy plains to a strangely well lit cavern. It looked familiar to the caves where my friends and I would dig for black ores. But this [place seemed more crafted than carved out. Then within moments of selecting unique features, so that I could tell Gol and Pit a new place to dig for ore. I was suddenly and instantly approached by a massive creature. For a moment it looked like a massive, giant Blue SPIKE DRAKE, but then it spoke to me. Then I knew what it really was… I roared in my naïve tongue “I challenge you to battle… WIZARD”.  After my very loud and commanding demand, all I got was mumbled speak saying “YOU haha CHALLENGE…. ME….haha….WIZARD….haha… I CAN’T BREATH rahahaha”. I thought it was a loud and seemingly insulting roar back. It seemed like heavy laughter instead of actual words. Then after it stopped and the room returned to silence, its eyes glared at me and said “YOU HAVE GREAT POTENTIAL IN BEING GRANTED LEADERSHIP OF YOUR TRIBE but you are not ready. You have the motivation to lead as a great warrior but you do not have TRUE STRENGTH.”

“I know I am strong so why do I need this TRUE STRENGTH you speak of. And what would a wizard like you know of being STRONG like me and the other barbarians.” I announced.

But within an instant I had said those words it swiftly struck me with its claw and said “YOU FOOL, stop calling me a wizard. I am daughter of Sythdos, Agados of the Onyx claws.” Then said very slowly as if she was talking to a small hatching with a whole lot of frustration “I. AM. A. BLUE. DRAGON. NOT. A. DRAKE. OR. A. WIZARD.” With those words and her attack I was knocked backwards. Then she continued in a more calmed speech “Your values of strength are not enough, You need more than that. Now to obtain what I mean you must venture out into the world to improve your so called strength, skill and knowledge. So that you can journey pass the mountain ranges I will mark you with my power and send you past them.”

“But what of my clan and friends they will search for me if I am not in the tournament.” I told her.

“I will tell my messenger to tell the tribes that I have sent you on an important mission and cannot return until then.”

“What if the messenger tells that message wrong or cannot convince them and who is this messenger of yours anyway.”

“He is the esteem spiritual elder.”

“Huh, no one’s gonna believe the old windbag I mean he speaks in riddles.”

I was struck again and slammed against the cavern wall. I felt an almost deadly serious emotion and the spirits within were also filled with the same malice.

“DO NOT INSULT MY MESSANGER IN MY PRESENCE OR AT ALL. INSULTING HIM IS AS THOUGH YOU ARE DECLARING YOU ARE MY PERSONAL ENEMY. NOW STOP WASTING MY TIME WITH YOUR FOOLISH NOTIONS AND GO SEEK TRUE STRENGTH …NOW!!!”

 

Then I awoke in an unfamiliar forest. I thought it was all a dream but when I started to rub my face I felt tremendous pain as if immense claws had struck me. To check my face I searched for a stream of water. When I saw my face in front of the water I roared because of my weakness. Afterwards I started to hear voices from a distant and saw a settlement. And I thought to myself “Where is this place? It does not look familiar” and “What did that wizard… I mean dragon mean by TRUE STRENGTH?” At least I still have all my gear and trinkets.

“I guess this is a good place to start…”

Leave a Reply

