Princes of the Apocolypse Part 8

PotAcover

Welcome back readers, I know I’ve been posting more than before but here’s the thing. I have just gotten more time lately and now is the time to spam some short posts. I won’t be able to do this all the time and there is about 3 months’ worth of stuff I should have posted but problems keep me away from doing so.

Anyway in this session, Randal had just shot down something from the sky and strange objects started to fall down. Statues, furniture and crates. The rest of the crew needed to evade the debris while using their spare time arguing about who was evil or not. The teams were still split in two but most of the team were now with the rangers. While the witch hunter and wizard were still in the centre of the valley.

Now here’s the thing. Many DMs structure their encounters via the roll table. I set up my encounters present. I choose what they encounter beforehand. Now that might be the same as others but I have my player use their checks to see if they see the enemy/creature. If they do see it, it is their decision whether they fight, talk or run away from them. Sometimes I would design an encounter where they would meet dangerous creatures and just talk about a deal.

A good example of this is their encounter with the hill giants on the plains where there was very think mists. I had designed this encounter to be one to gather information. I know it’s insane but to be thematic of the terrain and of the party, this was a challenge for Rock to talk to them about the land or challenge them to another strength contest to get the same information. Or have the rangers’ investigate the reason for why the hill giants were so far from their home. I was trying to set up grounds for the players to explore. But of course a few failed critical rolls had them start a fight.

Team A

  • Randal level 4 ranger
  • Lothram level 3 ranger
  • Grizilla level 3 cleric
  • Rock level 4 fighter
  • Apollo level 4 warlock

Team B

  • Gevauden level 3 witch hunter
  • Adran level 3 wizard

So here is the short version of the story.

Team A

  1. A box?
  2. Stone pillars?
  3. Please aid me in finding my crew
  4. Daemon is polite
  5. Kriv is annoying
  6. We hate Lillianna
  7. Dwarven chef
  8. Where is Fredrick?
  9. The TUB?

Team B

  1. Time to heal
  2. Hey come back with ma stuff!!
  3. Halfling!
  4. A store in a cave?
  5. Worthy information
  6. Bird tribe for safety
  7. A guide?
  8. Returning to the bandit camp

 

I’m almost done with the Full version of Princes of the Apocalypse Part 3. So it might be a long while before you see the Full story of this. Sorry, my readers. I can only type as fast as my computer can process.

Full Story coming later…

 

Leave a Reply

